I’m Viral. It’s Not Contagious. (A Love Letter to My Readers)

Standard

I’ve never desired fame. I never cared much for money, other than the fact that brand new Converse shoes and bills being paid feels pretty cool…and money kinda helps with that. I’ve been published once in an actual book. My name in print didn’t mean as much to me as the collaborative message of the bloggers inside of the cover. Autism acceptance. I have never received a dime of it’s sales. None of us did. We submitted our pieces for the education of others. Not money.

When I started Mutha Lovin’ Autism, it wasn’t about fans or followers. It was about community. Anybody who has been with me from the beginning, and there are quite a few, can tell you that. I care. A lot. I cry with my readers. I listen. I open myself up. I tell it all. “The good, bad, and the ugly.” is a common phrase. This is my tribe. My family. No, fame had nothing to do with it. I was alone in autism. I was searching for you too. I’d been to the doctors, schools, friends, family. I’d begged for answers and searched for solidarity, a kinship, in somebody. Anybody. I couldn’t find it. I knew others had to feel the same. I knew I could tell my stories and make someone feel better. Maybe even help them a little. And I did. And it was incredible. The longer I was online telling my stories…the deeper my desire for honesty and transparency grew. I wanted the truth…the raw life lessons that REALLY grow us. I wanted them for you and for me.

I watched as my family, your families began to flourish, in this honest, open, always learning community. We were GENUINELY making change in our own families and in the world around us. Never ONCE did I see dollar signs in growing likes. Never once did I, or do I, see my followers as beneath me or behind me. We have always been in this together. For each other. You were there for me when I was personally diagnosed with autism. You’ve gotten me through my great grandma dying in my arms, You were there when my son spoke his first full sentence.

You were there after my two month absense. After my breakdown. I didn’t know if you would be, but you were. You were there the morning I went to the doctor to ask for help. You were on my mind and heart when I took the famous selfie. You were there when I filled the prescription. You were there when I woke up and had gone viral.

You’ve been here every day since.

I don’t know how or why this happened. I’m almost as amazed by all of this, as I am meeting Doug the Pug…but it did. And it is happening. And it’s incredible to be a part of. Do I want to be well known and famous? Hell naw. I want autism and many other mental health issues to be well known and famous.

Hashtag Humbled.

About Mutha Lovin' Autism

My name is Erin. I am a mother of four children. I, my son and my daughter have Aspergers. My oldest has sensory processing disorder and my youngest has "classic autism". We are a homeschooling family who enjoys sharing our lives with others. I want to bring hope, humor and honesty to this community. Together we can make a difference.

4 responses »

  1. Thanks for promoting awareness Mental health issues and chipping away at the stigma that continues to surround it.I have one daughter on the spectrum and another with ADHD.

  2. I love that you’re story is out that. There are so many of us with a little piece of your story and you with a little piece of ours who need to know we are not alone and to let others know that they are not alone. ❤

Leave a Reply

